The Marconi Centre
- Marconi's pioneering cannot be overstated and his genius and legacy is physically commemorated by the Marconi Centre, just a few yards away from the site of the original transmission in 1901, still overlooking Poldhu Cove.
- The Marconi Centre was built to commemorate the Centenary of that momentous event was opened on 12 December 2001. At 4 pm local time, exactly 100 years' later, Lady Mary Holborow, the Lord Lieutenant of Cornwall, sent the 3 dots and letter "s" which was received at St John's. This time, however, the signal was sent by Amateur Radio rather than by spark transmitter.
- Visitors can watch a short video presentation showing the significance of Poldhu and Marconi's work and gain information from well designed wall panels. There are short wave radios to listen to and it is well worthwhile to take an interpretation sheet for a self guided tour of the adjoining field where the ruins of the old transmitter building can be seen.